Finding the flow and riding the dashboard

Week 4: Information Flow and Dashboards

Part 1: Tools of the Trade

Image
After experiencing these new tools, here are my ways of incorporating them into my life:

google reader: Following certain feeds that are my choice can be used in a variety of ways.  Number one, I can be given topics of my interest without having to search more than once.  This could be used in my classroom setting or even just for my own interests.  

iftt: This dashboard was genius.  To be able to create a recipe hooking up different social media channels can help me organize different features.  Sending tagged photos to Dropbox, or having the weather texted to me every morning have got my thinking of different connections I can make with this site.  Also, I was introduced to new apps from looking at different recipe examples.

hootsuite: This is a great site for me, especially when I’m in an environment where I am limited to the amount of time I can spend on my social networking.  Having it all in one location keeps me organized and time conscious.  

tweetdeck: this was a nice way to see my twitter followings.  As I accumulate more to follow, it is a simpler way to organize and view the tweets.

netvibes: This I felt resembled the other apps/dashboards so much, that I don’t think I will use it as much.  Also, in terms of its appearance, it seemed a bit too much for me.  I guess one benefit would be seeing so much at one time.  

                                                           Part 2:

Image

In researching these two terms, I came across the graphic above (fish) and this one below:

ImageContent Aggregation can take on two forms:
aggregation of content: syndicating someone else’s content that you found from their feed.
creating and publishing content that you’ve written yourself, then aggregating it

Content Curation begins with sourcing.  You need to be a part of different social communities, subscribe to blog and Twitter feeds that provide content.  Use bookmarking tools or alerts to keep track of certain niche topics.  One you have gathered the information and you are ready to republish, it needs to get the attention of the readers.  A site like this where someone can subscribe to daily emails of education news, is one way that curation is used to create something newsworthy:

 

ImageBasically, aggregation is automated and collects information based on keywords.  Curation is more  manual and needs human interaction to specify what information is relevant

Here are some content curation tools:

Image

