Hello, I see no evil.

According to Renee Hobb’s  presentation at the Winter Faculty Institute, I cope with my confusion, ignorance and misunderstanding of copyright by claiming innocence to the truth…and perhaps the law.

So thanks a lot Renee Hobbs, I can no longer go quietly into the dark night (copyright?).

Let’s back up.  This week’s focus  remained on a few objectives.  We were introduced to copyright and copyright-related laws.  By doing so, we were given the knowledge on incorporating copyrighted materials as part of our practices.  Finally, we were introduced to the general guidelines of fair use and how to make a fair use assessment.

With that said, the assignment for the week was to identify an example of a use of copyrighted material that we felt uncomfortable with in a specific context.

Well, because I am the “see no evil type,” I actually did not think about what made me feel uncomfortable when using copyrighted materials.  I used whatever images suited my presentation, used whatever video held the students’ attention, and used slides provided from anyone who was kind enough to post on tessellation.

All I can say is, thank goodness for the Fair Use Doctrine.  At least I have a sweet reference to use that way I am not going in blind anymore.

Because my way of thinking has me not answering the prompt as it should be answered, I decided to do a bit of research and find a pretty visual.  I came across a great slideshare on copyright in the classroom by Amy Hopkins.  I really liked her sites on public domain photos that can be used without fear of being served a huge fine.

Click on this image to see the shared slides.

The time to slip under the radar is over. As sad as it is, at least I can say that I am informed.

I also came across the Classroom Copyright Chart.

