“The Medium is the Message”

This week’s objectives included being exposed to digital stories, experience multi-modality in storytelling and getting to create a simple digital story.

I enjoyed the videos this week, making sure to share them with colleagues.  My personal favorite, “A Conversation With My 12 Year Old Self: 20th Anniversary Edition.”  If only I had been bold enough back then to film myself.

When Marshall McLuhan wrote “The Medium is the Message” in his book, Understanding Media: The Extensions of ManI immediately thought of the meme. Every part of its creation invokes the symbiotic relationship by which the medium influences how the message is perceived.

So this week I created my first meme.  I actually created two.  The assignment was to create something involving education.  I hope my creativity did not stray too far from that guideline.  I

wanted to focus on the humor I instill every day in order to overcompensate for crazy impossible standards and with colleagues who think old school is the only school.

I used the meme generator found at quickmeme.com.  I thought about what I wanted to say (or perhaps poke at), and thought about what sort of photo would enhance the words.

Meme 1:

This meme is dedicated to NCLB.  The statistics reflect one of my five math classes I teach each day of 8th graders.  Hopefully you are able to pick up on the subtle use of sarcasm in the bottom statement.

Meme 2:

This meme is dedicated to any teacher who has made me feel that a change is bad, and that this generation is at fault for not being like previous generations and preferring lecture-paper-pencil-produce as their means of education.  To you I say, the times, they-are-a-changin’ (Thanks Dylan.)

The overall experience would have taken me less time had I been able to think of something crafty right away. Who knew that anger and resentment could be fueled into a creative outlet.

Loved this quote from this week and wanted to share:

Those who do not have power over the story that dominates their lives, the power to retell it, rethink it, deconstruct it, joke about it, and change it as times change, truly are powerless, because they cannot think new thoughts.

                                                  – Salman Rushdie

