secret’s in the sauce

I had to miss a class this semester for coaching responsibilities.  Because of this, I was given the assignment to create an additional post.  I wanted to take the opportunity to write something positive about education in general.

As I brace myself for conferences next week, trying to fit in assessments, attend meetings and then of course do laundry, I feel like I am getting pulled into the negative nelly group. (Apologies if your name is Nelly).  With that, I have decided to come up with reasons to be in education. With that, I have included some technological sprinkles to visually make what I say, pleasing.

See So you want to Teach for other tips on staying positive.

To begin,

I am an educator because at 8 years old, my dolls did every math test I gave them.  This was also the age when I found out that the teacher books had answers already in them.  So with my new found knowledge and a realistic sense of classroom management, I knew I was bound to be an educator.

I should also mention at this time that I made academic centers in each part of my bedroom.

So here it goes,

Reasons to be an educator:

Victory

the other day I taught the kids how to plot points on the calculator, then taught them to find the rule of those points and plot the line.  when the line went through the points, the students gasped as if they had seen a shooting star.

Victory

                                                            Focus

it always seems to be that everything comes up at once. with that overwhelming feeling, it becomes so easy to distract oneself with the to-do list.  i find that teaching these kids each day, paying attention to what they need, how they react, what makes them work to their potential, de-stresses my need to fix society, or complain about trivial things.

Focus

 

 

Playground

when I watch Office Space, I constantly count my blessings that my work day allows me to move around, interact with humans, and every day is a different day. Exhausting yes, boring, never.

Playground

 

Toys

in education, there are always manipulatives to play with daily. when I taught kindergarten, there were more; however, even in an algebra class, blocks, shapes, calculators, document cameras, smartboards, laptops flood our lives.

Toys

Learn

i would like to think that my kids come in September unaware of life and all things math and then when they leave me in June, they are a full vessel of knowledge, able to make leaps and bounds in the world.  what I am always surprised about is how much I learn from them, not only about their lives but about 

teenage-isms, culture, how their minds work. even more, I learn about myself, how I handle different scenarios, how to communicate effectively with those I interact with and how far I can push myself to be better for others.

                           Learn

 

The title of this post is a tribute to one of my favorite films: Fried Green Tomatoes.  I believe that teachers and the curent state of education get a bad rap. So in my opinion, the secret to teaching is the ability to find the positive.

